Where do you see yourself in the next five years of your life?

“Where do you want to see yourself in 5 years from now” is the question that I have encountered in almost all the interview boards that I have attended yet this one question is the only one that I still could not prepare myself to answer.
When I am asked what I would do in my next five years of life, the first thing that strikes my head is that ‘a sky-dive would be nice’ or ‘playing violin in the middle of a crowd would really make me happy’. But of course I don’t say these to my interviewers. Something tells me they wouldn’t like my answer. So instead I tell them what ‘they’ would like to hear instead of what ‘I’ would really like to say. I tell them that I see myself as an established marketing professional who is the best in the field, who knows how to introduce a new brand to the customers or promote an existing one and blah blah.
Does it work? Well I got shortlisted in one or two multunational companies and accepted in one private company, so yeah I guess it does for me. The question is however the boundary that this 5 year timeline sets for me. I do not want to be doing just one particular thing in my future, there are a whole bunch of things that are in the list!
Life is all about exploring and finding out what suits you the most. The moment when you do find it, you know where to see yourself in the rest of your life!

8 thoughts on “Where do you see yourself in the next five years of your life?

  1. I am definitely going to try saying what I really want to do rather than what they want to hear. Though I need to apply first, but yeah I definitely would. I had been meaning to saw that from a long time. :P

    Congratulations on getting shortlisted. All the best. :)
    And I hope, though you haven’t said that you will get enough time to sky dive or play violin or whatever in on your to-do list. Best wishes.
    Take Care. :)

    Oh by the way, party ? :O

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think u should have told that. Honestly they would think u r crazy. They are expecting ur growth perspective. But yeah as u said we end up giving answer about only professional growth .
    Polomi is the best..
    Loads of love n care
    Sup

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

